top of page

Chakra Series Week One: THE ROOT CHAKRA

Updated: Jan 31, 2023

1. 22.23

In my classes this week we'll be beginning a 7 Week Chakra Series, starting with the foundation of it all: The Root Chakra. Chakras are energy hubs throughout the subtle body that correspond to different areas on the spine. When these focal points are fully-functioning, energy can flow though us with ease.

Our Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine. The Sanskrit name is Muladara. When the Root Chakra is balanced you will feel grounded, both connected to yourself, and to others. The bija (seed) sound for this chakra is "Lam."

Our peak pose this week is Malasana. We'll be paying special attention to our legs, feet, and ankles. In my Yin classes we'll be taking a restorative Malasana on blocks and bolsters, as well as giving extra love to our feet. In my vinyasa classes we'll be working a transition from our yogi squat to a Bird of Paradise.

To balance your Root Chakra this week, join me for a meditation at home:

Come into a comfortable seat, or Sukhasana. Inhale your shoulders up by your ears and on an exhale draw your shoulder blades together down your back. Sitting up nice and tall, begin to take deep belly breaths in and out. Feel rooting down through your sit bones, imagining vines growing down from your body and into the earth below you. Feel positive energy flowing freely up the spine and through the top of the head. Begin to imagine the color red like a glowing light surrounding you, swelling brighter with each breath in and expanding with each breath out. Quietly begin to say this week's mantra: "I am here and I am safe." Repeat these words while focusing on the breath: in and out.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page